Toronto – A Sea of Lights

Often a picture tells the story we want to share with others. But sometimes, the picture is (just) the result – and what went into taking the picture is the real story. Like the story behind this photo.

I like to photograph skylines, especially at night. And sometimes the opportunity arises to photograph a city from high above. My only problem: I am extremely afraid of heights and in my day-to-day-life I try to avoid them at all costs. When I am out shooting pictures, however, I have to choose between letting an opportunity go or challenging myself.

And so it was again when we visited Toronto and were weighing the option of visiting the CN Tower. At night nonetheless, which makes it even harder for me. Well, since I posted the picture, you already know which option I chose. But let me tell you, it was not easy.

Not only did we go up at night, we went up all the way to the Sky Pod. As if being in close proximity of the glass floor wasn’t enough.  Taking the picture wasn’t so easy either, since I had to lean into the window to avoid reflections. And that is quite a task when your legs are all rubbery and weak.

So while I really like the result of my little adventure, the way it came to be will always be an important part of it.

Definitely related posts: (handpicked)

~ by tripgalleries on January 29, 2009.

4 Responses to “Toronto – A Sea of Lights”

  1. The photograph was well worth it rubberlegs ;-). Pictures like this sometimes make me wonder if we will always have pristine untouched nature. Humans have accomplished so much and destroyed so much on the way.
    I never thought Toronto was very beautiful, but this picture is exceptional. Well done TG!

    • Thank you so much. You make a good point, of course. Nature always seems to come short when it comes to human “development”. I do actually enjoy exploring both, urban and natural habitats.
      Btw – Toronto is really a great city. You should give it a try some time.

  2. What a fantastic shot! The city just looks so beautiful seen this way.

Leave a Reply

 
