Moonrise over the Golden Gate Bridge

Not that long ago, I posted about the great views from Conzelman Road, especially at night. Well, to put the proverbial icing on the cake, how about a moonrise over the Golden Gate Bridge with San Francisco in the background?

When I tried this for the first time, it was truly spectacular. What I said in my earlier post about night photography from Conzelman Road applies here, too, especially the part about the gate being closed after sunset. This picture was taken from the stop at Battery Spencer because I wanted it to be dark enough and I had to wait for the moon to be in the perfect spot. By the time the conditions were right, the gate for Hawk Hill was long closed and locked.

You might wonder how I knew that the moon would be rising over the bridge that night. To be honest, I had some help from a photographer who, unlike me, knows what he is doing. Andre Gunther has a great website with lots of resources. If you are interested in photography, you should check out his blog and tutorials as well as his galleries. When I came across his post “Predict the moon for better photos“, I just had to try it. He explains it all in great detail and as you can see, it is working.

By the way, Andre also has another great blog called California Photo Scout where he reveals great photo opportunities in California. Not only that, he also gives you tips on taking photos, how to get to the location and other nearby attractions. You should definitely check it out.

Definitely related posts: (handpicked)

Predict the moon for better photos

~ by tripgalleries on July 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Moonrise over the Golden Gate Bridge”

  1. Such a unique view of your Photo~Gallery. Your work! Is professional to me.

Leave a Reply

 
